God, Love, and the Church — A reader comment

I recently received a comment on the post AIDS “catastrophe” in the American South that I wanted to highlight.  I really appreciate Chad’s insights, and I think he makes a number of very important points.  You can read my response in the comments section of the original post (link above).  Here are Chad’s words:

I’m a 33yr man dealing with HIV in Mississippi and the church has been a huge part of my growth. I have given my testimony and received nothing more than love from everyone. People tend to say churches will turn away those dealing with HIV, in my case, the church loved me and made me apart of their family. They have been encouraging, uplifting, supportive and prayful over me. This Church has shown me what Jesus is all about! They include me in everything they do! I can’t understand why churches would turn those looking for God away-To me, it makes no sense. Churches are not perfect either. Just because one church is a certain way, doesnt mean the next church you visit will be the same.

Mark 1:40-41

But we have to keep in check that when we are going to Church, we are doing it to understand God more-not the people in the church. Going to Church is about praising God, not pleasing people. I am blessed-

Faith plays a ‘BIG’ part in the lives of those dealing with HIV. It gives us hope and lets us live again. At least, God has given me a reason to live angain. And for that, I am eternity grateful!

Proverbs 3:6
God bless,
Chad


For another story about an HIV-positive man who has found love and acceptance from God and many Christians, check out the blog of
Christopher Yuan, who also appears in the short film “Hope Positive” (watch free here).

~ by h.e.g. on September 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
