Church of Ireland brings HIV/AIDS efforts to kids

>> HIV/AIDS Initiative Targeting Children Launched in Ireland – Kaisernetwork.org (Aug. 29)

Nice to see Irish Christians getting involved with this!  I think it’s a great idea to bring age-appropriate discussions of HIV/AIDS and related issues to children, and to get them involved in helping out, whether through fundraising or something else.  It’s a great opportunity to help kids develop a mindset where they think about important issues that affect people around the world and think about reaching out to help others. 

The Vacation Bible School curriculum my church uses always has some kind of little service project for the kids to do: last year it was stuffing little teddy bears to be given to kids in traumatic situations. For myself, my mom always helped me and my brother fill up shoeboxes for Operation Christmas Child, and I know that did a lot to get and keep me thinking in terms of helping people in less privileged parts of the world, even in small ways.  Anyway, all that is to say, I like the thinking behind this article!

~ by h.e.g. on September 5, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
