Red Ribbon Award 2008 winners

On June 11, UNAIDS announced the recipients of this year’s Red Ribbon Award.  The award honors 25 “community-based organizations demonstrating remarkable efforts in terms of innovation, impact, sustainability, strategic partnerships, gender sensitivity and social inclusion.”  From these 25, five organizations will receive further recognition in the areas of “providing access to treatment, support and care; supporting children orphaned by AIDS; promoting human rights; empowering women and girls; and providing HIV prevention programs and services.”

Grassroots organizations from around the world were nominated for the awards.  Winning organizations came from 19 countries: Ghana, Malawi, Madagascar, Uganda, Cameroon, Kenya, South Africa, Thailand, Nepal, India, Indonesia, Estonia, Russia, Nicaragua, Venezuela, Mexico, Haiti, Morocco, and Iran.

For more info see this press release from UNDP, and the Red Ribbon Award’s official website.


~ by h.e.g. on June 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: